THE STATE OF TEXAS)(
COUNTY OF JOHNSON)(

WHEREAS, on May 4, A. D. 1955, an election was held in the town of Keene, Johnson County, Texas, wherein a majority of the votes cast were in favor of incorporation of said town under the provisions of Chapter 11, Title 28 of the Revised Civil Statutes of 1925 of the State of Texas and amendments thereto; and that pursuant to said election the County Judge of Johnson County, Texas duly entered his Order declaring the results of said election, dated May 10, 1955, a certified copy of which Order is of record in the Deed Records of Johnson County, Texas, to which Order reference is here made for the boundaries of said municipality; and

WHEREAS, it is now necessary that an election be called for the purpose of electing officers to form and operate said city government; and

WHEREAS, a slate of candidates has been presented to me for the office of Mayor, of City Marshall, and for five Aldermen, which slate of candidates were selected by a nominating committee chosen by a twon mass meeting:

Now, therefore, I, H. G. Littlefair, in my official capacity as County Judge of Johnson County, Texas, do hereby order that an election be held on Tuesday May 24, 1955, at Keene, Texas, at the Town Fire Hall of Keene, located on the campus of Southwestern Junior College, within the said town of Keene, Johnson County, Texas, for the purpose of electing the aforesaid official positions of and for said town.

Mr. Jack Milstead, a qualified voter and resident within the above described boundaries, a suitable person, is hereby appointed presiding officer for said election, and he shall select two judges and two clerks to assist him

in holding the same, and he shall, within ten days after said election has been held, make due return thereof to the County Judge of this County as is required by law for holding such election.

All persons who have attained the age of twenty-one (21) years and who are legally qualified voters of this State, and who have lived within the town limits of Keene, Texas, as said limits are set out in the above described Order declaring the results of the aforementioned election of May 4, 1955, for six month next preceding said election, shall be entitled to vote at said election, and each voter shall indicate his choice for each office hereinafter indicated by either placing an X in the square next to the chosen candidate, or by striking the names of all other candidates except the chosen candidate under each given office; that the slate of candidates are as follows:

FOR	MAYOR

S. M. Bayliss

P. W. Essig

Vance Reed

FOR MARSHALL

John A. Depen, Jr.

J. D. Nelson

J. E. Nixon

FOR ALDERMAN #1

C. B. Blair

W. H. Findley

C. A. Norman

FOR ALDERMAN #2

R. J. Bascom

E. K. Birdwell

E. Russell Owens

FOR ALDERMAN #3

G. W. Flowers

Bill Harper

Vernon C. Mohr

FOR ALDERMAN #4

R. W. Crawford

M. D. Lewis

Paul L. Wilson

FOR ALDERMAN #5

C. H. Stoner

L. C. Ward

Roy Young

The Sheriff of this County shall post notices of said election by posting three notices thereof in three public places within the boundaries of said municipality as hereinabove defined, ten full days prior to the date fixed for said election.

Dated this 10^{th} day of May, A. D. 1955.

H. G. Littlefair, County Judge of Johnson County, Texas.

----000000----